daily except Mon 10am-5pm - open Bank Hol Mon - closed 24-25 and 31 Dec
The present-day castle, residence of the last four prince-bishops of Speyer, is a reconstruction of a 1722 Baroque building entirely destroyed in 1945. All together it comprises some fifty dwellings. The central section boasts a splendid staircase in an oval well (1731). Crockery, furniture and paintings originally from the castle are displayed in the rooms that lead off the main reception halls. From the Gartensal, there is a fine view of the park laid out in the formal French manner.