Apr-Oct: 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-5.30pm; rest of year: 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-5pm - closed 1 Jan, 25 Dec
This gem of medieval sculpture can be found in the centre of the former large cloister of the charterhouse of Champmol, founded by Philip the Bold in 1383 and destroyed for the most part in 1793. The well of Moses is one of the rare remaining features of the medieval monastery. The small edifice houses six strikingly life-like statues of prophets by the sculptor, Claus Sluter, also responsible for the chapel portal. The edifice is named after the figure of Moses, perhaps the most impressive of the group.